Society of notaries queensland

About The Society



PO Box 3536, Toowoomba Qld 4350


Monday-Friday: 9am – 5pm

The Society’s office bearers for 2022/2023 are as follows:

President: Mrs Margot de Groot
Secretary/Treasurer:  Mr James Madden

Committee Members:
Mr Clive Speakman
Mr Ross Lee
Mr Myles Murphy
Mr Philip Roberts

Past President:  Neil McPherson

Upcoming Course for Practitioners

Discover the Role and Responsibilities of a Queensland Notary Public: An Essential Course for Practitioners
An initiative by the Queensland Society of Notaries during their Centennial year (2022), this microcredential has been developed in partnership with Bond University’s Faculty of Law, and Professor Peter Zablud, author of the main text on notarial practice in Australia, Principles of Notarial Practice.

Find Out More & Register With Bond University

The objectives of our Society are:


To support and promote the character, status and interests of Notaries in Queensland.


To promote honourable practice, to repress malpractice and to settle disputed points of practice.


To decide all questions of professional usage or courtesy between or amongst Notaries.


To consider all questions affecting the interests of Notaries.


To engage in the reform of the law relevant to the practice of Notaries.


To consider all future applications of persons applying to the Court of Faculties in London for appointments as Notaries and to support or oppose these applications.


To acquire by purchase, donation or otherwise a library and to maintain the library.


To provide rooms or other facilities for the holding of meetings of the Society or other matters.


To encourage the study of the law, and to provide all information on subjects important to the practice of Notaries.


To make, alter or repeal rules for the good government of the Society.


To recommend the fees to be charged by Notaries.


To do all other things necessary for the attainment of the above objects.

Contact the Society of Notaries Queensland